1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Fluid Film undercoating as a business ?

Discussion in 'Eureka Fluid Film' started by OnTheFarm, Aug 24, 2013.

1. OnTheFarm

OnTheFarm Member

Is anybody in the Fluid Film undercoating business here? Since I've got a lot of experience doing my own trucks, I've been thinking of doing it as a business. I checked the Fluid Film Undercoater Locator (www.fluidfilmundercoaters.com) and there were not many in Canada, but a lot in the states. I'm confused about the prices they charge. Some do it as cheap as $40-$50 per vehicle, and others charge $150-$200. Now I know that it takes me an hour to do a good job on a mid-size suv. Even if they buy Fluid Film at wholesale, they must be paying about $30 per gallon if it sells in the stores at $50. I use at least 3/4 of a gallon on every vehicle using the Fluid Film Pro Gun from Kellsport Products ( it works super and I've tried them all). So my question is... how can these guys charge $50 to undercoat a car when they are using $20-$30 worth of material alone ? It makes no sense. They have to be either really skimping on the application, or thinning the Fluid Film with something. I can't believe that with the setup/cleanup time they can do a job for maybe $20 bucks profit ? I'd like to hear from others that do this for a business. Maybe I'm missing something and I'm always willing to learn.

2. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

You cann't make money and do a good job at $50. We charge a minumum of $150 to do a full size vehicle.