1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Float Mode Vs. Lowered

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by MJLsLawnCareNmo, Dec 7, 2008.

1. MJLsLawnCareNmo

MJLsLawnCareNmo Senior Member

Ok, for those that don't know, it's my first year plowing. Boss 8'2" V RT3 on a '05 Dodge Ram 3500. I just had my first night out plowing and now have some questions. Should I be plowing mainly in float mode or with just the blade lowered all the way before it goes into the float mode? What about when I'm in the V or Scoop positon?

Also when backblading, float mode or with just the blade lowered all the way?

I've noticed that the blade really hangs up on the slabs of concrete that are at slightly different heights. Jolts the truck pretty good. Is this normal? Would being in float mode vs. lowered all the way help with this? What about more or less speed, would that help/hurt?

Lastly how do attack driveway curbs? Go up the curb from the street, or go down the curb from the driveway into the street? Again float or just lowered?

Oh and maybe this is an obvious question, but does the blade still trip forward in float mode?

Thanks ahead of time for all the help! I know I have a lot of questions. :dizzy:

2. 042500hd

042500hd Senior Member