1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Fisher speedcast dropping

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Toady, Oct 23, 2009.

1. Toady

Toady Junior Member

Hey guys, any thoughts? I'm new at plowing. Have an old fisher speedcast on a 92 GMC 3/4 ton truck. The plow won't hold the up position. It creeps down to the ground in just a couple minutes. The pump seems to lift it ok, it just won't stay up.
    I replaced the lift cylinder but no better. I have to assume it's the valve assembly. I have been searching these posts and found a link to Northern Equipment where I can buy a HALDEX pump/valve combo with the switch for about $650. I don't want to do that, then find out it was something else. Is there something else that could cause this? I can't find any leaks.
    The valves are expensive, and I may need a new cable as well.
    The PUMP seems to work fine. Is there a way to replace JUST the valve with an electric set-up (in other words keep the fisher pump) Basically like the Haldex but without the pump portion of it
    Thanks for any help Guys.
    Toady

2. Toady

Toady Junior Member

I spoke with a local installer (dealer but not of fisher) Wants me to bring it in Monday and have him look at it.
    If it's creeping down, but not losing fluid, and the cylinder is new. Should I assume it has to be the valve body? I'll just eat the 650 if I have to and buy this http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_613_613 if I can be certain it will solve the problem.
    It has 1/4-18 NPT thread. Will that fit the fisher hydraulic lines?
    Thanks for your HELP
    Toady

Last edited: Oct 23, 2009
  3. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member