1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Fisher or Meyer??

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by coolhand51, Apr 18, 2010.

1. coolhand51

coolhand51 Junior Member

Hi, I have been moving snow for 10+ years using my tractor locally [55HP New Holland 4WD]

However after this winter in the east, and the fact I am not getting younger I want to equip one of my trucks with a plow. Locally there are fisher and meyers dealers close for parts etc.

So, I have 2 trucks I am considering - would really appreciate opinions on which truck and which plow would be best / optimum.

My uses would be driveways [long country with hills, both paved and gravel] and some light road / lots.

Truck 1 2005 F250 with 6.0 diesel, 4wd, short bed crew cab - 60K miles

Truck 2 1999 F350 with 7.3 diesel Dually 4WD, Long bed super cab. 92k miles

I am leaning toward the 99 Dually - but can would buy 1 mount for this year, then possibly as second mount for the other truck next year.

Thanks, Coolhand

2. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

Is neither an option?

3. cubicinches

cubicinches PlowSite.com Addict

I agree. Given those choices, I choose Western! :D

4. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

Western is just an inbred cousin of Fisher.

Boss or Snoway would be my first two choices. Probably Buyer's after that.

5. cubicinches

cubicinches PlowSite.com Addict

Exactly. They have the same great hydraulics, they just plow good... unlike a Fisher. :D

Coolhand doesn't know what he started here. :laughing:

6. show-n-go

show-n-go Senior Member