1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Fisher Min mounts

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by cat320, Mar 24, 2001.

1. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member

A freind of mine had his fisher min mount snap in too where the frame comes to a point he wasn't abusing it. has any one else had this type of problem with them breaking like that?
  2. Michael F

Michael F Senior Member

The A frame?, I've never had a problem like that. I would assume the A frame is the same as old conventional style, in wich case I have been using them for 5 years now, the 2 older ones were both bought used. I never had this problem. My Fishers have only broke down once in 5 years, & that was a solinoid. Friend have Westerns/Meyers, seen to break down at least once per season. My brothers a welder, all the plows that come in to their shop are either Meyer/Western, he looked at one guy and told him he should have bought a Fisher. These plows are very reliable, maybe he got a bad one?
  3. 75

75 PlowSite.com Addict

Hi cat - 2 questions: Is this a newer or older unit, and did your friend buy it second hand?

I guess I should ask a 3'rd question: What constitutes "abuse"? I'm NOT picking anyone apart here, and you know how your friend plows better than I do. But plows were designed mostly for straight pushing, and stacking puts stress on them at an angle (A-frame not level) and can also cause twisting force as well - actually, any time one side of the blade is higher than the other it puts a twist on the A-frame. They weren't really designed for this.