1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First Year Plowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by SlamaNow, Oct 20, 2014.

1. SlamaNow

SlamaNow Member

Hello guys,

This is my first year plowing snow, I am in Cambridge Ontario.

I Started up my own little company towards the middle of September and began advertising. I have a chev 2500 with a fisher 8.5" v plow. Both are maintained and tuned up for this coming season and I have a service contract set up with my mechanic and he is keeping spare parts and will be on call if need be.

I am a little nervous because I feel as though I got in the game too late in the year and I do not have any contracts yet. I have been toying with the Idea of subbing out for this year and just taking it as a learning experience.

so questions. Is it too late to get contracts now? How do I go about offering my services to other snow contractors?

Any help or advice would be appreciated. I cant wait to go out and get the plow down.

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Look for ads, call other landscape places or other companies and see if they are hiring subs.
    So you have never plowed at all before?

3. MSsnowplowing

MSsnowplowing Senior Member

it's never too late, I have picked up contracts in December.
    Your best bet is to drive around and knock on doors at places to see if they are taking bids.
    If they are submit one.
    Good luck

4. SlamaNow

SlamaNow Member

How should I be quoting on the bids?

Just make up a standard sheet and fill it out by hand?

Also, what should be included?

I can wright up a contract no problem but Im not sure on the bid side of things.

5. MSsnowplowing