1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First year plowing questions

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by michigan Joe, Nov 1, 2004.

1. michigan Joe

michigan Joe Junior Member

Hey guys, it's my first year and I've got 2 dozen residental driveways. Plus 3 acounts are small neighborhood associations with private drives to clear. I'm pretty excitied to get started, any week now, but I'm still a little nervous for the first snowfall. I feel a little unprepared just because I've never plowed before, with anything besides a bobcat, and I want to do a good job for my costumers and not make it look like I don't know what the hell I'm doing. I guess what I really don't know is when the snow starts falling when do I go start plowing. I mean should I stand in my driveway with a ruler and wait for the magic number or is there an optimal time to start plowing and a time to not plow. Should I stick to a set number of inches and go or go at certain times of the day and night. Also one of the drives is a dirt road, is there anything different I need to do to plow it properly. I'd appreciate any help guys, forcast is for snow showers this weekend. :confused:

2. progmc

progmc Member

I think that you already made your first mistake. Just for the fact that you jumped into so many accounts for your first year. You should start small and see how it goes. I guess everyones different but thats how I see it. This will be my third year and Im just now going to get a few more accounts now after just doing 5-6 the past two years, and am thinking about a back truck also.

3. crazymike

crazymike Senior Member
    from Toronto