1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

first year comm..maryland plowing prices

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by flxinxj, Jul 10, 2008.

1. flxinxj

flxinxj Junior Member

I have been plowing for 3 years for a friend and am looking to get my own comm.. contracts and was wandering what the going rats are. im looking to place bids on diff propertys but would like to keep prices at buy the hour for larger lots and buy the push for smaler lots with them being set buy the inch.. im also not to sure about how to charge for salt. My friend uses bulk but I cant store that so I will be using 50lb bags. Any help would be grat. I have a 7.5 western on 04 2500 ram and will be looking to buy another truck for a friend to drive and I may have 2 other friends with trucks to plow for me.

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Its easy money isn’t it…
    He1L, How much was the boss making off you?

Sh1T why don’t you just ask the guy that you were plowing for what he charges.

You can just pay your “friend” under the table a few bucks and pocket the rest…
    Damm easy money…….

Some will tell you what their “rats" are some will not but this is how Johnny does it
    http://snow.grounds-mag.com/ar/grounds_maintenance_pricing_right/index.htm

But wait.
    A BUSINESS plain???
    Who woud da thunk?

Only you know how much money you need or want to make.
    You need to do some planning.
    Well like.

Do I need to set up a business.
    Do I need to be licensed? What kind?
    Taxes.??? Doooouh
    Workman comp as your “friends” are now your employees
    Unemployment, S,S with holdings.