1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

first time pricing lots

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by fastxcr800, Nov 20, 2008.

1. fastxcr800

fastxcr800 Member

I'm just getting into plowing this year. I have 3 parking lots that i'm going to look at tomorrow to price. What methods are tipically used? How do you price for different depths and salting? How do you figure out how much salt to purchase for the season?

2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

I figure the sq footage, and the obstructions. Then I look at where I can stack the snow. If all of this seems pretty easy, then I take a good look at the lot and figure out how much time it will take. I sit down and do the math both ways. Then I charge them the higher of the two prices.

As far as depths, I go 1 to 3 - 3.1 to 5 - 5.1 to 7 and 7 + I take my base number for the 1 to 3, and multiply that by 1.5 for the 3.1 to 5 and dulble the base number for the 5.1 to 7. For the 7+ I just charge my normal hourly rate.

This all my sound funny to alot of you guys that get more snow than we do in Ohio, but we have to pay for our equipment as well, and to set higher depth amounts we would never be able to charge a higher dollar amount since our snows average about 2 to 3 inches.

3. fastxcr800

fastxcr800 Member

whats normal for an hourly rate?

4. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

70 an hour is what we get around here, but that number varies as close as 50 miles away from here

5. TPC Services

TPC Services Senior Member