1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First time doing Plowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by gasman12, Oct 16, 2014.

1. gasman12

gasman12 Junior Member

Hello out there i'm new to the business i've been cutting grass for 5 years and i'm just getting started into plowing this year i was hoping someone out there wouldn't mind passing on some advise on what to charge for this service i have a 2011 ram 2500hd just bought a new plow snow dogg 7.5 and a new snow blower.if anybody can pass some info along i would really appreciate it.
    thank you

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Find a company and work for them first.

3. gasman12

gasman12 Junior Member

i do some work for this one company they did ask about plowing but i just don't know how to charge them?

4. dieselss

Find a snowplow company and work for them first. Then go out on your own. You can either use there equipment, or yours. Im thinking you probably don't have the proper insurance for plowing either.

5. gasman12

gasman12 Junior Member

i have the insurance?

6. dieselss

General liability, 1million.

7. gasman12

gasman12 Junior Member

yes sir i do

8. dieselss

Ok you have that. Ever plowed before?
    Even know what you going rates are?
    What are you plowing res. Or commercial? How many accts? What's your trigger. Have you made contracts yet? Is it just you or do you have help? With help, do you supply the workers comp? Salting?

9. gasman12

gasman12 Junior Member

i have plowed before but just for family and a couple of friends no help just me
    i addvertise for lawn maintence but i always get call for plowing

10. Buswell Forest

Buswell Forest PlowSite.com Addict