1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First snow plow - running in to some hurdles

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by 86turismo, Oct 31, 2014.

1. 86turismo

86turismo Member
    from home

Hey Guys/Gals,
    This is my first year plowing. I am completely green when it comes to hooks, wiring, etc.

I recently picked up a 7'6" MM1 plow that came off a '97 regular cab GMC. I have a 98' Chevy K1500 Classic Ext Z71. I have been told by the previous owner and others that the push plates for the 90-98 GMC/Chevy trucks were the same across all 1/4 ton trucks. I have managed to get the push plates mounted however when I pull up to mount the plow on the truck the support arm that attaches the height adjustment to the back of the plow does not clear the bumper when the plow is set to the correct height to line up with the push plates.

I have attached a picture of the portion of the plow that is hitting the bumper. I have 15 hours in to this project, plus a 7 hour road trip. Hate to give up, but I am about ready to resell.

The plow is a two plug system. The guy did not give me the headlight pigtails and relays, so I am trying to find a complete whip (truck side).

Can someone shine some hope on this situation for me?

Thanks for looking and replying.

Plow.jpg

2. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

You'll probably want to post this in the Fisher section to get more visibility.

3. ponyboy

ponyboy Senior Member

I hope you didn't pay too much

4. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

Can you post pic of mounts?

5. AtlanticExcavat

AtlanticExcavat Junior Member