1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

first post need advice

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by ashevagasnc, Nov 28, 2011.

1. ashevagasnc

ashevagasnc Junior Member
    from nc

Hello all, I have been plowing one lot with a JDeer compact tractor for the last 5 years and contracting out all my other comericals out to a few different companies at $100.00 a hour. Live in the NC mountains last two years we have had a lot of snow and I feel I am better doing all my lots myself.

Problem I have now is I only have a 2010 Ford extended cab 4.6 v 8. What type of plow can or should I invest in? Most of our snows are around 4 to 8 in. range. If we get hammered I know I will have to plow during the snow.

Thanks

2. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

7.5 footer of your brand choice or buy from the closest dealer to you regardless of the brand they sell. I say that loosely only for the convenience of parts and service.

We don't have many dealers in NC. I run a Fisher for the following two reasons.

1. I have always run Fishers.
    2. My plowing employer runs all Fishers so I can get parts from him in a pinch. There are no Fisher dealers around my parts. I order stuff online.

3. ashevagasnc

from nc

Do you think my truck can handle a 7.5 foot. The only dealer in Asheville is a Boss dealer. Should I go with a comercial or residential plow? I may only plow 10 hours per event.

4. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

I'd go with Boss then. Great plow. A Sport Duty model would work, but I wouldn't hesitate with a regular duty either. Keep up with the storm and your F150 will do fine. Make sure to not skimp on the ballast behind the rear axle.

5. peterng

peterng Senior Member