1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First plow of season

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by bishopsRobes, Nov 12, 2012.

1. bishopsRobes

bishopsRobes Junior Member
    from Idaho

I've plowed during mid-season before, but this is my first year starting fresh. I've searched the forums but can't find the answer...

So...When do you guys typically pull the trigger on your first plow of the season? I've got a gravel driveway about 1/4 mile long and am wondering how much should be allowed to build up before putting the plow into action for the season? Keywords being "first plow of gravel driveway".

Your thoughts are appreciated.

2. Wilnip

Wilnip Senior Member

2 inches at a minimum. Maybe even more. And until that gravel is frozen, you're going to want to back drag it.

3. LEVE

LEVE Member

I plowed the first time this year just this morning. There was about 4' of heavy wet snow in the driveway. If I let it go more than that I could be in trouble if the snow is light and drifting. I have to keep an eye on the driveway or there could be a two to three feed drift if it's dry and blowing. The only reason I plowed today was the wife's Prius had to get from the street the 400' to the garage. She's partial to not getting stuck and having to walk. Go figure?

4. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic

If it looks like there is going to be cold weather in the near future, then I would plow at the end of the storm and make sure there is at least 2". If it looks like it's going to be warm after the storm I wouldn't plow unless there is at least 4".

5. bishopsRobes

from Idaho

Thanks

Thanks for your insights; much appreciated!

6. leolkfrm

leolkfrm PlowSite.com Addict