1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First plow, Blizzard or snow dogg, LT or HD?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Swest18x, Nov 2, 2014.

1. Swest18x

Swest18x Junior Member
    from Ny

Hi guys

I've got a new property with 800 ft of gravel drive plus another 150 foot to a barn and a wide turn around. The drive is very narrow, one lane only with woods right up to the stone and a horsegate in the middle just wide enough for my truck and trailer. I have no experience plowing. We have a 2001 ford excursion, going to upgrade the front springs and hang a plow off the front. Went with the excursion because we have two kids in cars seats and a third on the way, the plan is on mornings it's snowing I'll be getting up, plow the driveway to get the wife and her honda civic off to work, load up the kids, drop them off at the sitter, my wife works 12 hour shifts so I get home first with the kids in the back and need to be able to plow my way back in the driveway if it's been snowing all day. I commute about 35 minutes and the plow comes with me, although the other option is have the plow on the truck the night before, plow in the morning then drop the plow and just rely on the 4x4 to bomb my way back in the driveway in the afternoon, pick the plow back up, etc.