1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First Paying Job

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by mayhem, Oct 13, 2011.

1. mayhem

mayhem PlowSite.com Addict
    from Peru MA

I am not a professional, nor am I planning on making aliving out of this. That said, I am taking on my first commercial job this year.

My wife spent the summer as assistant director for a local summer camp, owned by a church a few towns over. I spent a fiar bit of time there and they're pretty nice people. One thing I heard alot was they really didn't like their plow guy...he was unresponsive and tended to bring his bucket loader to clear the place at the last minute instead of maintaining it and was charging them up the wazoo for it. Of course the flip side is its at least partially their fault for telling the guy to only come when they called or when it was really bad as they didn't want to get a big bill for him clearing the place when there is "only" 5-6" on the ground.

I'm going into this with my eyes open and did my best to tell them what I will and will not do. I tried to make sure my pricing is very fair and I'm making a real effort to be generous as they really don't have a gold mine worth of money and I jsut want to be a nice guy and help a place out that can really use it.