Snow Plowing Forum banner

First Commerical - Gas Station

3K views 16 replies 14 participants last post by  hunt 444e 
#1 ·
Hi everyone.....Im new. Just started a landscaping biz and now moving into snow removal.

So im a big time rookie in this business and think I might have my first commerical account. Its a gas station. I have nooooo clue on giving this a qoute. What are some things you look at or how do you qoute a gas station.

#6 ·
check with your insurance provider, mine won't insure me to do gas stations

#7 ·
Best of luck to ya with the gas station, as of the storm we had 2 weeks ago im done with them. Too many people and cars going thru. Not worth the little bit of money they pay. Also make sure you meet with them prior to any storms, you wanna find thoes lids to the tanks before you hit them with your truck. Another tip, add a backup alarm to your truck and make sure you got some lights going. and really watch out.

#10 ·
The liability on the Ins. companies is immense in gas stations. Not only the people constantly moving in and out of them in both cars and foot, in a tight congested area, but also, things like clipping a pump, and spilling even the slightest amount of gas immediately becomes(in the legal world) a haz-mat clean up, or even the foam fire supressions sytem, clip that and see how much that ends up costing. Hence why many coverage's deny gas station plowing.

#11 ·
I recently picked up a gas station with 10-15 pumps. Not large in size, but its ridiculous how low they wanted to keep the cost. I figured it would take me anywhere from 25-45 mins depending on the amount of snow so i charged what i would charge per hour $85. Hope this helps in your quoting. Also, they are closed overnight which makes it much easier to plow.

#12 ·