1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

First accident, and hopefully last.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by WinTech, Feb 14, 2007.

1. WinTech

WinTech Junior Member

I am new to plowing and this was my first storm. It is a marina filled with large boats (mostly 40') and very technical to push. I have a mason dump with an 8'6" western, which is too big for this job. I had just finished my second push and was backing to leave...and backed into the corner post of the clubhouse. Minor damage to the post, but I still felt like an a$$. :blush2: Now I am afraid to back up anywhere in this place. If that had been a boat, they would have all come down like dominos. My chevy dump has those small electric mirrors, not the tall fixed ones. I would hate to switch them out, but maybe I have to. Any suggestions, I am headed out again later. :eek:

2. DeereFarmer

DeereFarmer PlowSite Veteran

Just back up until you hear a crunch and then go forward really fast. Seiously, sorry to hear about it man. I would hate plowing with a dump.

3. Big Ben

Big Ben Junior Member

It could have been worse. I'd say go with larger mirrors. Also try some 50watt halogen back-up bulbs. you can get them at Jc whittney for like $15 and they are super-bright. halogen bulbs produces 2-1/2 times more light, lasts 3 times longer than standard bulbs.

4. REAPER

REAPER 2000 Club Member
    from 60050

Perfect need for a rear view dash cam.

5. WinTech

WinTech Junior Member

Thanks for the info guys. The last push today was much better, I changed the pile locations which helped minimize the backups, This lot is very difficult, especially for a newbie.