1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

firefighters plowing snow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by insnow4fun, Jan 18, 2005.

1. insnow4fun

insnow4fun Member
    from Indiana

i know there are a few of you out there...my question is....

do you use your plow truck....decked in strobes and leds as your fire run truck if you are a volley? i have not thought about the strobes yet, and was wondering if i could have like hideaways on the corners....something amber uptop, and the like maybe a blue visor light for the fire runs.

if you would, let me know what some of you other volleys are doing.
  2. Ggg6

Ggg6 Senior Member
    from IL

I am a career firefighter so I do not respond to calls in my POV. Determining what you can run on your POV depends on your state laws, and will vary from state to state. The local Police should be able to direct you to the right info. Places like Galls will sell you anything, even if you can't run it on your POV.
  3. Peopleeater

Peopleeater Senior Member

I don't see a reason that you couldn't run both colors and just have them switched. Amber only or Blue only or ..

4. dacse

dacse Junior Member

I have 2 blue and 4 clear strobes on my truck. When plowing, I just unplug the blue strobes from my power supply and use the clear ones.
  5. hillmin

hillmin Junior Member

As a volunteer in NH our FD lights are red. I have a red light on my dash and a magnetic amber light on the roof I use when plowing. I don't think we are allowed to use built in strobes on personal vehicles like the state, town, or fire trucks have.

In our town private plow contractors are required to have one amber light on their vehicle when plowing. Check your loca codes.