1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Finding Owner Ops

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Hambrick & Co., Jul 21, 2008.

1. Hambrick & Co.

Hambrick & Co. PlowSite.com Addict

What is the best way to find owner ops? I have been plowing for 8 years now, and this will be my second season on my own with my own legit company. None of my friends have plows for their trucks and dont seem that intrested in getting one so I figured hiring a reliable owner op would be a good option as I would like to expand this season. Let me know you thoughts and what has and has not worked for you. Thanks Mike

2. nicksplowing

nicksplowing PlowSite.com Addict

BUY ANOTHER TRUCK YOURSELF AND HIRE SOMEONE FOR $25 AN HR.:nod:THATS HOW I GOT MY COMPANY GOIN....GOOD LUCK :drinkup:

3. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

You mean a "SUB"
    You need to hire a subcontractor.

Open the phone book.
    Start calling contractors.
    There owner/ operators..

But be careful.
    When your customers start seeing a truck with a different business listed on the door they will start to call them and not you.

4. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Watch for trucks with plows or mounts on them and ask who they plow for. A quick way to find a sub.

5. bltp203

bltp203 Senior Member

Post an ad here on Plowsite........

6. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

Around here they believe it or not post in the "Employment" classifieds. They run ads in the "Tire & Parts" too ,like we would need parts?

7. Plowin in VT

Plowin in VT Senior Member