1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Finding Commercial Accounts

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Diesel Dan, Mar 5, 2015.

1. Diesel Dan

Diesel Dan Senior Member

I've been subbing commercially for 3 years now, insured, LLC and know what I'm doing.

My question pertains to finding commercial accounts of my own. It seems I'm plowing a crap ton of snow and making breakfast and gas money. Residential work is pretty weak around here. Most home owners drive a half ton 4x4 or know an friendly old guy who does it for free.

I keep hearing to avoid NSP's like the plague. Even the guy I work for says that.

How do I find out who wants a bid?

:help:

Last edited: Mar 5, 2015
  2. beanz27

beanz27 Senior Member

Property records search, cold calls, letters, advertising, or if all else fails a walk in handshake does wonders.

3. On a Call

On a Call Senior Member

Look for jobs not being taken care of. But stay away from mine :) .

As said cold calls work !

Stay away from nationals IMO, you are a sub to them.

4. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

You can't be that bad off. You know what it cost to go out for breakfast and fill up the truck? If your looking for new accounts ,stay away from chains,need to go to single locations. Local banks are good ,stat now looking at lots to see how they looked plowed and stray away from the ones that look like a bomb hit them and stay away from busy streets ,those are time killers. I would still try for driveways put hte fear of the next big one!

5. derekslawncare

derekslawncare PlowSite.com Addict