1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Finally got a plow

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by 09Daxman, Nov 7, 2012.

1. 09Daxman

09Daxman Senior Member

Well I have been a member on here for a couple of years now just reading up and lurking around, but the time has finally come! Today I picked up and mounted a 8 ft Fisher HD on my 09 Chevy Dmax.

I dont plow for a living or anything like that, im a mechanic at a shop and this year my boss loss our usual guy who plows our lot so he got some estimates from people and everyone was giving him 200+ per push up to 6 inches. So he figured on a 8 inch snow fall he would be paying someone else 400 bucks. So he decided to just buy a plow and put it on our 97 chevy 3500 tow truck, and everyone in the shop said thats a bad idea that is not set up for plowing and to get it set up for plowing we wouldnt be able to make it into alot of the garage ramps in downtown, plus we are very space limited as is and we would not have room to leave a plow in the shop when not being used. So I told him if he buys the plow, I will put it on my truck, I will plow the lot, and I will store it at my house in the garage, IF I can take care of some other peoples driveways with it(most importantly Grandmas driveway) and he said he was fine with that. So he bought the plow, I bought a backrack, and I ordered an Able 2 low profile mini LED bar and a back up buddy. Here are some pics so far of the truck with the plow and back rack. Very happy with how the truck handles the plow at full lift it drops an inch if that. The truck has a rough country level lift in it, I also ordered some gussets from B&B on here, and has Air lift 5000 bags in the rear a