1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Felons/Criminal Records of Employees

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by beanz27, Feb 27, 2014.

1. beanz27

beanz27 Senior Member

So talking to another contractor last night, he was telling me some of the guys he has hired in the past were pretty `colorful` to say the least. How many of you do backrounds checks, what will you or wont you hire, or does it even matter to you?

2. bhmjwp

bhmjwp Senior Member
    from kcmo

No felons or DUI's in past 10 years.

3. Mr.Markus

Mr.Markus PlowSite Fanatic

I've been a solo contractor for 18 yrs. Last year was the first time in my life I was asked to get a criminal record check done by the local PD in order to bid a bank property. They must of been having problems....they posted a security guard outside everyday last year, which was a weird thing for such a small town.

4. rcn971

rcn971 Senior Member

I learned my lesson the hard way.....hired a guy and caught him stealing. Checked the DOC website afterwards and when I typed in his name.....there he was for the same thing. So he ended up doing another 18 months for it. I won't let it happen again.

5. OldSchoolPSD

OldSchoolPSD Senior Member

I don't mind drug or assault charges (caught a felony assault charge myself once) but theft is a no go. The union drug tests all their guys so it's a rare occorance for me to get a guy with a current drug problem. If rather have a guy with a weed charge over a drunk though, any day of the week.

6. Chineau

Chineau Senior Member