1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling a Bit Srewed

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Rat_Power_78, Oct 27, 2010.

1. Rat_Power_78

Rat_Power_78 Senior Member

Ok first off, if you dont want to read about someone complaining about loosing work, stop reading now. My family has owned a landscaping company for over 30 years, but my dad has never wanted to do any powing. I have been doing snow removal for several years either working for someone or subbing with our skid loader. Last year I decided it was time to try doing my own work (seperate from my regular job), aiming for both residential and commercial. My year started slow, and by the first snow I had only one driveway to do, as well as keeping our own property clean. Things picked up for me at the end of December when I got a call from a local lawncare guy who said he had more work than he could handle. I ended up with a dozen more driveways to do, all within a few blocks of each other. It was a pretty good route to have, especially for someone just starting out. Everything went smoothly last year, with all but one customer paying immediately after recieving my bill.