1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Feeback on new truck and plow setup please

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by hackitdown, Sep 30, 2013.

1. hackitdown

hackitdown Member

I am looking for honest feedback on what I am looking to buy. I am hesitating on pulling the trigger on the purchase, this is a big expense for me. I am a landscaper that plows 35 to 40 residential driveways, and one small parking lot. I currently have 2 Chevy 2500HDs with Fisher 8' MM2 plows. We plow about 10 very long winding uphill driveways. We tow open dual axle trailers in the summer.

I just test drove Fords and Rams, and I think I like the Ram best. So I priced out a Ram Tradesman regular cab, 5.7 gas, 8' bed with a list price of $36K. The dealer can install a 8.5 Extreme V yellow steel plow for $5800, less a $1000 upfitter incentive from Dodge, net is $4800 on the plow.

My questions are regarding the plow/truck setup. Will the V plow make life easier, and/or make things quicker on the long uphill driveways? Is the truck and plow combination ok, or are there issues I need to know about?

Any feedback from the pros would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. BC Handyman

BC Handyman PlowSite.com Addict

ram 1500? is that tax in?

3. Buswell Forest

Buswell Forest PlowSite.com Addict
    from NH

You want the 9'6" Xtreme V-2, the new model.
    The V is 3x better than any straight blade.
    And IMO, the Ram is a poor choice. They do not have the beef to hold up plowing with the big V.

There is no better truck for plowing than a regular cab F250 or F250 Super Duty. And the 6.2 is more powerful and better on gas than the Ram too.

4. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic