1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Fan on trans cooler?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by meborder, Dec 2, 2011.

1. meborder

meborder Senior Member

I'm just wondering if there is a general concensus about adding a fan to pull air through the trans cooler. Is it needed?

I'm new to plowing, so I'm not totally sure what to expect.

My only frame of reference with regard to trans temp is in my 2000 explorer. I added a trans temp gauge to the cooler return line (as per the instructions), and the ONLY time it reads above 160 is at very low speeds where there is no air flow. The hottest it has ever gotten was 180ish and that was backing my boat into the shed (up hill).

So I guess what i'm wondering is if there is generally enough airflow while plowing to allow the aux cooler to do its job. As i said, i have no experience running a plow.

My plan was to put tap a temp gauge into the trans pan, but i'm out of time for the year and it didnt get done. I had also hoped to put a plate and fin type cooler with a built in t-stat and fan, but that aint gettin' done either, not this year anyway.

If it helps, my plow truck is a 83 K20, 350 4bbl, 700R4. It does have a 4-pass tube & fin cooler right behind the grill. The trans shifts firmly and the fluid is bright red. Also, and i think this is probably a good thing for plowing, the trans seems to hold 1st until 10-15 mph no matter what.