1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

F250 Good Or Bad

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by taiello85, Dec 29, 2010.

1. taiello85

taiello85 Junior Member

Im new to the game and still shopping for equipment. I have found a 2006 F250 diesel single cab with 180,000 miles. The truck has never been plowed with. So Im looking to put a 8' fisher stainless x blade on it. Im going to be in this for the long haul. My concern isnt the miles on the motor. My concern is the wear of 180,000 miles on the frame, suspension, ect. Should it be a concern moving forward?
  2. Chipper

Chipper Member

I just purchased this truck and got it setup to plow. Like yours it never had a plow on it. Truck currently has 224000 miles runs and drives like new. Overall condition of the truck is more important then miles. If the truck was taken care of I wouldn't about it and just use it. Its hard to advice without actually seeing the truck.
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  3. Dr Who

Dr Who Senior Member

Personaly 180K on anything is way to many miles unless you are getting it for a song and dance.

Sure a diesil motor is good for way more then that, but the transmission, axles, transfercase are the same as in the gas trucks, that is alot of miles, then if you are going to plow with it, you are going to work it hard, well that puts more stress on already high mile parts...

my opinion, nothing more
  4. FordFisherman

FordFisherman PlowSite.com Addict
    from 06611

I'd buy it and not think twice if its in good shape. Vehicles with that kind of mileage don't usually get there if neglected. The mileage is testament to proper maintenance. My main plow truck has 231K and pushed the recent blizzard without a hiccup.