1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

F150 4x4 to plow or not to plow?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by snowpro2210, Feb 15, 2008.

1. snowpro2210

snowpro2210 Junior Member

Hello im a newbie to the snowplow industrie so go easy on me but my question is that i have just purchased a ford F150 4x4.I have a lawn care company that i run in the spring/summer and do leaf removal in the fall. So i was thinking of douing snowremoval in the winter now that i have a bigger truck. But the thing is is that the truck has 174,000 miles on it but you would never be able to tell from looking at it.I was affraid that with this many miles on the truck, it would be to hard on the transmition and other parts of the truck.am i write or should i be able to put a plow on it and if i could put a plow on it what kind would you recommend for that size truck.thanks mike

2. tman3007

tman3007 Senior Member

To plow or not to plow

Plowing is very hard on trucks period...mechanically and cosmetically (old or new). You just have to decide on how far you want to take this part of your business. Do you want to have a nice residential route mixed with a few small commercial or do you have your sites on some larger accounts.