1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

F 150

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Bradlamby, Dec 9, 2004.

1. Bradlamby

Bradlamby Junior Member

I'm looking in to a truck. Its an 1987 F 150 but its not a 4x4, and they guys has a poszy rear end for it. would i still be able to plow with it if i put the poszy on. Theres an old Fisher plow i saw for sale real cheep and i could get that too, The truck is a 4 speed manual, in line 6 its rebuilt. I can get it for $250.00. what do you think i should do? Let me know!!

2. Bradlamby

Bradlamby Junior Member

A pic of the truck.

Truck.JPG

3. EskiePages

EskiePages Junior Member

I'm not an expert on plowing, but hopefully my thoughts will help. It depends a lot on what you really will use it for.Though some may scoff at a 6 cylinder, they are good engines and usually quite reliable. I personally prefer the straight sixes in the full size jeeps, and have liked what I've seen of the 300s in the Fords. I'm not a Ford fan, but that engine is a big plus to me in that particular truck! No, it won't have the guts of a larger V8, but it can still serve for many purposes....maybe just not the "mammoth" tasks a V8 and a 3/4 or 1 ton is better for!

I would assume that's a medium duty 4 speed, and not the heavy duty granny 1st tranny, correct? They're ok, but not made for abuse. Keep that in mind with any use you intend to do wit it!