1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Explorer strength

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by jrjr2u, Oct 9, 2009.

1. jrjr2u

jrjr2u Senior Member

Anyone plowing with a Ford Explorer? I wonder how tough they are structurally. Anyone bent the frame or anything?
  2. Captain

Captain Senior Member

I'm plowing with a 2004 Explorer.

I have a Fisher Homesteader on it. I do 20 driveway accounts.

No problems at all last year. I have been plowing for the last 14 years doing driveways, and am always very careful. More so as to not damage the property, as well as the truck.

As long as you don't go ramming into things you should be fine.
  3. jrjr2u

jrjr2u Senior Member

But - what exactly constitutes ramming into things? I have commercial plowing experience from years ago and there is a certain amount of 'ramming' needed to bank the snow up. I remember getting decent speed across a parking lot, letting off just before the banks, and lifting the plow as momentum took me into the pile and banked the snow up.

I think this method should not be a problem and I'm not going to do commercial stuff now, or not much of it at least. But, I guess I am just looking to prevent trouble....

The reason I ask is that I had a welder custom install my plow since Curtis does not make a mount for the explorer. He stated that he has seen explorers bend the frame near the shock area and he has repaired them.
  4. Captain

Captain Senior Member

I never let momentum take me into a snowbank. I do a controled lift under power and have never had a problem stacking.

I would think running into the bank with momentum will cause damage to any SUV used for plowing.

All of the above is just my opinion.
  5. chcav1218