1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Experiences with used plows?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by phordophile, Oct 25, 2009.

1. phordophile

phordophile Junior Member

Sooooooo, I'm looking into buying a plow for my '88 f250.

I have no plowing experience, but I'm a quick learner behind a wheel, and confident that I'll be able to handle my personal plowing needs. Though we do have kind of an extensive, bumpy, rutted, sloped dirt/gravel "driveway", with a couple of turnaround spots, a side road to my shop and several key spots where back dragging would be a must. Total plowing length is maybe about 300-400 yards, which takes our regular plow guy about an hour to plow at $80 a pop. We live in a heavy snow zone near Sandpoint, Idaho (close to 100" last winter), and have paid right about $1200 a season for the last three winters at this house, on top of $300 to have our berms moved back with a backhoe. My main goal is to save money on plowing (I look at it as investing the money we'd spend on plowing in the future), but also with the idea that once I figure out what the hell I'm doing I may be able to pick up some more winter side work down the road (hello from Idaho, where one job is never enough).

A Local Dealer (LD) was really pushing a new 8' Western which, according to my research since then, seems like a quality plow that would fit well with my rig and my plowing needs.

LD was also really talking down the idea of buying any sort of used plow as I could pretty much count on having to replace some sorts of expensive parts and that by the time I paid for that and a mount and mounting for my Ford I was getting pretty close to new plow costs anyway.