1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Experienced Subs Please Step Inside!!!!

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Mrplow247, Jan 25, 2011.

1. Mrplow247

Mrplow247 Member

Ill make this a simple question, Thumbs Up

Do you guys make enough money as a sub to not have another job, seems impossible o be able to sub and work.

i would like to know your situations, how do you do it, how do you get paid when the white stuff isnt flying, and what do you do in the spring, summer and fall :confused:

thanks guys
  2. bah1491

bah1491 Member

I am currently in college at OSU and I have three sub contracted trucks in zanesville, ohio. Ive been subbing for about three years now, and have steadily added a truck per year. During the summer I operate a lawn and landscape business.

As far as the payment::dizzy:

I usually get called out with about an inch and a half of snow, and usually each truck is out no less than five hours. The most difficult part about subbing is that I cannot have hardly any of my own accounts. When it snows a decent amount their is no possible way for any of my trucks to tend to my own work without violating the contract. Of course I could if I wanted to but I will obviously have to record for the time that I wasn't on a contractors job.

I must say that times get VERY, VERY tight during the winter. My sub contractors contract that I signed states that payment is NET 45 days.....That makes things very difficult especially when we have several snows that eat up the operating costs.....

I dont plan on doing this forever, but It has worked out well for me and my business's development.
  3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa