1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

exempt industry - overtime question

Discussion in 'Employment' started by NorthernSvc's, Feb 14, 2013.

1. NorthernSvc's

NorthernSvc's Senior Member

Anyone know if snow removal is an exempt industry? is there a way to get around the 40 hours per week thing in regards to overtime? I'm sitting down to write my employee handbook and i'm interested to see how everyone handles this situation that has full time employees.
    this is my first year with 2 full time employees... I will call the lawyer tomorrow, just interested to see what all of you are doing.
    Thanks

2. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic

Good luck with that. If I worked for ya, I wouldnt after I received that check that was shorted OT. Hell we pay DT after 60.

3. NorthernSvc's

do you have 2 different paygrades? normal shop pay ( general labor pay for normal work) and plowing? or do you get one standard rate with your company old dog?

4. NorthernSvc's

reason why is this I have 2 sets of employees seasonal who only work when it snows - make xx an hour driving if they are doing more than 40 hour per week plowing i have no issue paying overtime.

second is my 2 fulltime whoe make xx an hour doing normal stuff working on trucks, takking down christmas decorations ( currently), power washing... and then if it snows bump up to their old plowing rates - xx an hour....