1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Estimating Formula Needed

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Rhath64, Oct 7, 2014.

1. Rhath64

Rhath64 Junior Member

Hello to everyone! I'm new to the Snowplowing business. Just retired from 45 years of masonry. Looking for a job and plowing snow is going to be it till spring.
    Need your advice on how much time would it take to plow a straight driveway-60'x15' with a depth of 4". I want to create a baseline. I hope to contract within a 10 mile radius.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

For me about 2 minutes

3. Fannin76

Fannin76 Senior Member

Get on taskeasy.com and use their measurement tool and it'll give you a price

4. Rhath64

Rhath64 Junior Member

Estimating

Thank you, Fannin 76. The website was helpful. I need as much info as I can get. Actually doing the plowing will be my best teacher but prices are needed now.

5. Fannin76

Fannin76 Senior Member

Did you make sure u made sure it was on snow clearing when you used the measurement tool. Because their prices are different for the tasks

6. Herm Witte

Herm Witte Senior Member

Production rate X hourly rate x frequencies per season = seasonal rate
    Or
    Production rate times hourly rate = per trip rate

These are simple formulas that you can build on and refine but will at least steer you in the right direction for now.

Production rates can be found elsewhere on the site. Join SIMA for a host of information and training materials. There is a lot of work for you to do. We can't do it for you. A lot of it is part of business 101. Best wishes and good luck!

7. Rhath64

Rhath64 Junior Member

New to Snow Business