1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

equipment advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by ned5485, Feb 3, 2007.

1. ned5485

ned5485 Member

I am new to plowing, and to the site. I just had my first snow since buying a used system for my jeep. I was less than excited by its performance. It was leaving a lot of snow on the driveway/parking lot. I am guessing that I just need a new cutting edge. My question is, what kind is best? I only have a few chances a year to plow. I use it for paved lots, and some driveways, some are aggregate. It seems to me that rubber/poly edges would be best. Any comments or advice would be great. Mostly, I would love some advice on where to find the best product on a small budget.

2. payton

payton Senior Member

go to the local fab shop.. and get a steal cuttin edge.. cheaper and will last longer then poly.

3. NorthernSvc's

NorthernSvc's Senior Member

really only need poly if your doing brick drives or other sensitive drives, rubber will squeegee the pavementbut doesn't last that long. steel will last a long time but leaves about an 1/8 of an inch of snow this will melt in sunlight, best bet is to get a steel cutting edge also make sure you take off the shoes on your plow.

4. ned5485

ned5485 Member

Thanks

Thanks for the advice. Like I said, I do a few aggregate driveways, will the steel tear it up? I only get to use the plow a few times a year, and I don't want to tear up any property. Is there anyway to estimate how long/hours a rubber edge would last?

5. ned5485

ned5485 Member

Also