1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

engine block heater..

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by spongebob, Dec 4, 2005.

1. spongebob

spongebob Senior Member

im new to diesels..whats the deal with the block heater??
    i live at 4000' elevation, and it gets to at least zero in the winter..

i know what its for, just not sure when to use it..also ive noticed that maybe the truck ive ordered ( 06 duramax) will come with a grill cover..whats up with that?
  2. exmark1

exmark1 PlowSite.com Addict

I have a 01 Dodge Cummins I plug it in pretty much once it gets below 15 degrees at nite, it helps it start alot easier, & it gets heat faster when it's warming up. I think it also help the life of the motor being started warm
  3. Detroitdan

Detroitdan PlowSite.com Addict