1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? Explore this quick video tour of updates and enhancements. It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Emergency Lights

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by chs1993, Nov 28, 2006.

1. chs1993

chs1993 Senior Member

Does anyone have any suggestions on what kind of emergency light to buy? Im new to snowplowing and was wondering if strobes or leds are better? thanks

2. profire73

profire73 Member

It really depends on who you talk to on what is better. Strobes are great at night but not as intense during the day. LED's are obviously the newest and most popular warning lights and will outlast the strobes. Not to mention the draw that the LED's have are very low compared to your halogen lights and even strobes. I do like to strobes in the hideaway version and you can get them pretty reasonable.

Now on what to buy really depends on your budget. You can get the LED's mini bars anywhere from $225.00 to $800.00 depending on the manufacture and the strobe bars are about the same new. I would not buy a new strobe bar because there are so many of them for sale used at half the price new and they are very easy to get parts for and fix yourself.

I am sure you will get alot more good input on what to choose but remember you do get what you pay for most of the time but there are times that you can spend quite a bit less and still get the warning you need.

I personally run a Sho-Me mini led bar and hideaway strobes. Total I have about $365.00 into them and they are new.

Hope my 2 cents helps and this is just my opinion so hopefully other people chime in.

3. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping 2000 Club Member