1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

electric fan question

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by ebauer14, Dec 12, 2009.

1. ebauer14

ebauer14 Junior Member
    from ny

Im kind of new at this so any info would be helpful, I have an 03 gmc 2500hd and when you drive with a plow on the truck runs a little hot, like 225. I was wondering if I added a fan in back of the radiator and in front of the engine fan, would that help by pulling more in. I originally thought of putting one in front of the radiator but theres really not a lot of room because of the transmission fluid cooling unit. I was just thinking of buying a fan off of jegs.com and putting it in but dont want to if its not going to help. any info would be great thanx.

2. jbohio20

jbohio20 Junior Member
    from ohio

i had the same problem few years back with a chevy i had. all i did was when driving from job to job i would lower the plow alittle bit when driving so better air flow would get threw the grill.

3. Clevername

Clevername Member
    from Indiana

Right - My Chevy K1500 runs a bit hot from time to time. Once I see it up there, I simply re-adjust the blade and slow down a bit and she goes right back down where it belongs.....

I Shouldn't be driving that fast anyways! :nod:

Now if only I can get it (plow) running again!

4. ebauer14

ebauer14 Junior Member
    from ny

thanks guys, Ill try that

5. swmipropertymai

swmipropertymai Junior Member