1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Eight Miles of Forest Service Road

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by gbvol54, Aug 1, 2011.

1. gbvol54

gbvol54 Junior Member

A snow plow newbie here looking at property in NE Washington that's 8 miles in on Forest Service non maintained grave/dirt road. I've read Jedons post about his 2.5 mile access problem in the Sierra Nevadas with interest and done a few searches but can't find anything that quite matches this. The road is in reasonable shape for a dead end FS road with a few ups and downs but for the most part stays around 4000 ft. Snow fall totals around 50+ inches a year, generally light powderish stuff due to the cold temps. In theory the Forest Service will issue a permit to land owners to maintain access, and it's a beautiful large chuck of land at a very reasonable price, but am I getting in over my head (pun intended)? The real estate agent says the previous owner (now deceased) kept it open with a pickup mounted plow. Is this a realistic expectation or real estate agent bull? I'll be retired by the time I move in so I'll have time work the road, but I'm not sure I want another full time job plowing snow. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
  2. wizardsr

wizardsr PlowSite.com Addict

A 3/4 ton pickup would be fine, heck even a 1/2 ton could probably handle it just fine. Plowing roads goes faster than you'd think, if the road is not too rutted up, you could easily do 10-15mph, maybe even a little more, one pass down, one pass back, you'd be done before you know it. If there's a chance you're not going to get to it right away before the snow piles up, a vee plow would be a good idea.
  3. IMAGE

IMAGE Sponsor