1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Education - UTI

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Arrow, Nov 11, 2003.

1. Arrow

Arrow Junior Member

Education - UTI
    I would like some opionion on a school my son is considering. He will be graduating in May 04 and we had a presentation last night on UTI, Universial Technical Institute. Seems like a good program but i would like to know from people in the Auto Industry what you think about it?
    Thanks
    Arrow

2. Perkin50

Perkin50 Junior Member

I don't know much about UTI but I graduated from a college with an Associates Degree in Automotive service Technology. I would not attend a school that offers just a certificate and not a degree. The reason is what if after working on cars for a couple of years you son doesn't like it. He is pretty limited with a certificate. I worked on cars for three years before moving on into research and development. I work for major corporation as an engineering technician were I build and test differentials at the proving grounds. I would have never been able to get this job without an Associates Degree. Also, I am working on a Bachelors degree which will open up even more opportunities within my current position and I can also teach college level automotive with my Bachelors degree if I choose. I would suggest that your son attend a school that offers a degree which will allow him to build on. And you may also want to check and see if the school your considering will transfer to other schools. :)

3. Plow Meister

Plow Meister PlowSite.com Addict