1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Ediot here, please help!!!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by steveo, Dec 30, 2008.

1. steveo

steveo Junior Member

hello gents- im new to this so be patient.......im purchasing an ext. p/u truck for convience b/c i do alot of work around my house. however, i thought of doing some small jobs plowing.....im not going on the highway in blizzard. i live in NJ and may start to do side jobs to keep busy when im off school- im a teacher.........i realize there are some fanatics on this site, but i just need advice on what is the best bang for my buck.....i will also use this truck to drive to work so i would prefer a v6, however being new to this business idk if this is possible- forgive me for me being incompetent. what do you recommend......pls help...and it has to be a used vehicle

2. chcav1218

chcav1218 Senior Member

oooookay we get this a lot. Yes you can plow with a V6. You can also plow with 2wd but it will be a nightmare. If you're just droing drives in New Jersey you will be fine with something along the lines of a V6 Ranger or a Dakota with 4x4. As far as plows go, the options are endless. Its best to go with a company that has a dealer close to you. Fisher, Boss, Meyer, and most of the big names all make a "personal" snowplow that I think would fit your needs. A snoway would be perfect but they are pricey. I could even dare to recomend a Snowbear, as long as you dont mind getting out of the truck to reangle the plow. Read up on this site and you will learn a lot. Don't be afraid to ask

3. Milwaukee

Milwaukee 2000 Club Member