1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Eco Salt - de icer?????

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by M & MD Lawn, Aug 7, 2011.

1. M & MD Lawn

M & MD Lawn Senior Member

I was searching the forum and was looking for a salt supplier here in indianapolis, I saw DMA but is that it? When I searched i got no one else. Also im new to plowing year with the truck, been doing some drives and been doing some sidewalks as a sub. Was looking on some insight on pricing de icing and also If there is a eco - deicer, as a client has requested it, the rest would probably be fine with rock salt or CC. Just looking for some advice:waving:

thanks in advance
  2. M & MD Lawn

Also recommendations on salt/de icer use? I know rock salt can be used effectively if it is put down in the right application rate.
  3. Westhardt Corp.

Westhardt Corp. Senior Member

It sounds like a typo, meant to be CMA (calcium magnesium acetate). It's dandy stuff, but pricey. Do a little digging and you can find pricing info on it, but my experience has been that clients LOVE the environmentally friendly deicers right up until they see what they cost.

4. M & MD Lawn

Lol I was thinking along that same thing, and there's calcium chloride I thought ??...never heard over cma, I'm new to this special salt thing, I had used rock salt on my drives and sidewalks
  5. Wayne Volz

Wayne Volz Senior Member

Ice melt choices

There are many options for ice melters. They are all good in certain situations based on the many variables of the actual snow or ice event and the surface area being treated.