1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

e60 lacking power to stack

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by tony0713, Dec 28, 2013.

1. tony0713

tony0713 Junior Member
    from pa

I'm new to the e60 as my previous truck had the e47 on it. my e60 seems to not have enough power to pull up the plow with a pile of snow on it to stack. if I time it right it can but if I have a pile just in front I can't lift unless I back up and relieve some pressure off the plow. also while pushing snow it can't angle side to side without slowing or stopping the truck. the previous owner told me the pump had a recent rebuild and I changed the fluid and filter last year. could the pressure need to be adjusted?

my old truck was a s10 with only a 6 or 6.5 (can't remember) my current truck is a f250 diesel. could my old truck might not of had this problem because it was a smaller lighter plow?

2. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

Not much I can really say without knowing what pressure it is at. But if you are pushing heavy wet snow it is not going to lift once you have already packed the snow into the pile. Also you have a lot more truck pushing against the plow now. Even my xv won't lift a pile of snow if I am already up against it.

3. JeepCoMJ

JeepCoMJ Senior Member

A tired electric motor or bad packing in the lift cylinder could cause this as well.

4. tony0713

tony0713 Junior Member
    from pa

could it be bad ground/power connections or corrosion where the pump and motor meet? I might take the motor off and take a look in there and clean all the connections.

5. JeepCoMJ

JeepCoMJ Senior Member