1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

FRANLANDRY1 Junior Member

I just bought a truck and it came with a meyers plows and it goes up and down very slow any ideas im not good with meyers im a fisher guy thanks for help me
  2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

A slow drop is normal (unless it's EXTREMELY slow), you're just not used to an E47.

Slow lift is caused my many things...

1) Weak battery
    2) Poor power or ground connection(s) including corrosion buildup between the motor and pump housing.
    3) Weak under hood solenoid.
    4) Restricted filters
    5) Low/contaminated fluid.
    6) Weak/internally corroded motor.

FRANLANDRY1 Junior Member

Yes its extremely slow up and down but not back left/right
  4. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

It takes very little power or hydro pressure to angle, it takes much much more to lift so that's why they'll angle fine but lift slow when there's a pump, motor, or electrical issue.

The check list still applies with your extras details, but start with either checking or having checked the pump PSI output and if it's ok start with the electrical side of things..which is what the list is mostly comprised of anyway.

If it really is that slow to drop. clean the filter(s) in the front of the unit behind the hex plug(s) first and if there's no improvement next remove the A valve from the rear of the unit and check it's screen for debris which will restrict the fluid form escaping the lift cylinder when dropped. If these still no imprivement replace the A valve.

This unit probably needs a full service anyway. Fluids and filters are probably long overdue as with most.
  5. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707