1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

E47 Sucking Air?

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by OmahaJeff, Dec 10, 2013.

1. OmahaJeff

OmahaJeff Junior Member
    from Omaha

Though I grew up on a farm in Iowa, and pushed lots of snow with tractors, I'm new to the truck-mounted plow game. I do all my own mechanical work, so I'm adept at that.

Anywhoo, I picked up a 7.5' Meyer blade this summer, with the E47 set-up. I was told that it had been rebuilt before last season. I've got it on my '93 Chevy Truck.

Everything is hooked up and operating properly, but here's my glitch: Whether extremely cold or moderate, the plow will work just fine when I start going. But without fail, about 2-3 minutes into the work, it stops working. The pump runs but it isn't pumping any oil. No lift, no side-to-side.

From what I've read elsewhere, the way to "bleed" the system is to simply move the unit side to side. So I do run the pump and try that, but it does no good.

Then all of the sudden (after about 10 minutes of 'working' the side-to-side) it will start working again - very slowly, and jerky, at first. It's like it's getting a little bit of oil. Then it'll be back to normal, and will work fine until I'm done.

I cannot find any leaks. Though I added fluid the first time, when I let the blade down it shot it out the overflow valve. In other words, I don't think I'm low on fluid.

So...
    1. Am I sucking air into the system somewhere/somehow?
    2. If I am, HOW do I bleed the air out of the system without just sitting and endlessly running the pump?

Any ideas for a noob? THANKS!

2. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran