1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Duramax vs 6.0

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by WiscoMan, Sep 13, 2013.

1. WiscoMan

WiscoMan Junior Member

I am new to plowing and have a 2005 duramax that I would like to put a V-plow on. However, every plow dealer in my area refuses to install a bigger plow than a 7'6" mid weight straight blade because they say I would be over my front axle rating. I am looking to get a 8'6" Western MVP3. Does anyone have a V-plow on a duramax and could give any insight? Do I buy a 6.0 or put the plow on my duramax? Whats a better plow truck 6.0 or 6.6?
  2. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

I have 2 2007's with a the duramax. I have an 8'6" Western MVP Plus on one and a Boss VXT 9'2" on the other. I also had an 09 CCSB Duramax with an 810 Blizzard. I installed all these plows myself and have had no front end problems. I do have Timbrens in them all also.
    Also we run a set of wings on the Western.
  3. goel

goel PlowSite.com Addict

And I have 6.0 l gassers and most run 9 ft blades plus wings so they are almost 11 ft wide. Never any extra problems.
  4. got-h2o

got-h2o 2000 Club Member

I've had 6 Dmaxes and every one had a V plow on it. 3 were CCSB's and the others were Xcabs. They were all 2500's, and one was a 2wd. You'll be fine.
  5. Leland Lawn

Leland Lawn Member

You'll be alright! We just bought an almost new Dmax 2500HD and plan to put a 9.5' V Plow for this coming snow season. I have no doubt that it will be amazing, cause of the experience I have an '03 8.1 2500hd with a 8.5' V on it. Great combination!