1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Duramax Fuel Filter Servicing

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Jakedaawg, Oct 4, 2014.

1. Jakedaawg

Jakedaawg Senior Member
    from N. Mi

'06 Chevy CrewCab Duramax/allison 4X4

Background: I am a marine mechanic. I am former state and a few ASE certs auto mechanic. I have very little diesel experience. I do understand the theory and a basic understanding of the old style small diesel engines and injector pumps.

I would like to be able to change the fuel filter myself. How tricky is it? I am assuming that there are tricks so that you dont have to bleed the whole injection system. I have been paying to have it done do to lack of time and a general hesitation to screw it up.

Does anyone know of a good online "how-to". I really dont want to purchase a factory service manual.

2. Whiffyspark

Whiffyspark 2000 Club Member
    from SOMD

Stupid simple. They have a plunger on the housing to prime it. Sometimes you don't need to do that just cycle the key to run a few times

For really stubborn filters I take out the pass fender wheel to get a strap wrench on it.

3. Sock-em

Sock-em Junior Member
    from 48356

Changing filter

Just make sure you fill the new filter before installing,and you should not have to prime. I did my 2006 and she fired right up.Then I had to figure out how to reset filter life . That's where Google comes in.

4. Whiffyspark

from SOMD

I've never filled one.

5. Jakedaawg

Jakedaawg Senior Member
    from N. Mi

Thanks guys. Ill give it a try. i like things that are "stupid simple", fits my personality.

6. jmac5058

jmac5058 Senior Member