1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Duramax 6.6 Motor Problems

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by wagman34, Mar 10, 2006.

1. wagman34

wagman34 Junior Member

Has anyone had the kind of luck with the Gmc Sierra that I have. I have had two Motors installed since I bought it. Both motors failed at around 70,000 miles. I have also had numerous other problems. Transfer case failed after dealer replaced encoder motor and the 4 wheel drive switch. The check engine light will never go out and the code is p540. I have had the part they say is bad replaced 3 times and it still won't start on cold days. I tow for a living and thought buying the 3500 dually was going to be great because I had the Chevy with the 454 Vortec before this truck and I loved it. 295000 miles before one of my guys totaled it. So I went with a diesel and love the truck except for all of the problems. I have spent over 20,000 dollars on repairs and feel like I have been cheated. Anyone with some knowledge of other people having problems would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely,, WAGMAN34

2. salopez

salopez Senior Member

Have you brought this information to a Lemon Law Lawyer? Seems like really big problems. I have not had them with my duramax, but they are obviously there. Has the dealer offered to trade that the truck at full retail?

3. Joe D

Joe D Senior Member

You need a new dealer. I can see one bad motor as anything can happen even the best engine has failures but not 2. Is the truck beat on or neglected at all? Are the injectors dumping fuel into the motor and burning pistons? More detail. Where are you located?

4. Yaz

Yaz PlowSite.com Addict
    from NH

5. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict