1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Dump Truck Worth It?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by NBI Lawn, Dec 4, 2008.

1. NBI Lawn

NBI Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

I found a "deal" on a '97 Chev 1 ton dump. Truck has a broken frame right behind the cab, nothing really bad. It has been at a friends shop (mechanic) for over a year.

6.5 diesel/auto
    219,000 miles
    new GM motor at ~150,000 done at dealership
    new trans with 14 miles on it
    newer ball joints
    newer axles shafts
    9' dump
    9' LEO snow plow

Truck has very little rust and seems to be well worth $2500 but I dont know if I am just getting into a rat trap with the broken frame and it being a 6.5

2. Duncan90si

Duncan90si Senior Member

I'm not the biggest 6.5 fan in the world, but as long as there is some kind of documentation or proof of the newer motor and trans, then I would buy it in a heartbeat. A 6.5 is definately not a Duramax, but I think they have a worse reputation than they deserve.

3. exmark1

exmark1 PlowSite.com Addict

I would go with your gut on that one... being a 6.5 and the broken frame RUN!!!!!

4. NBI Lawn

The guy who has the truck says he will fix the frame for $300. Said it "isnt that bad" and its common on those trucks to break there. I really only want it for a leaf/clean up truck.

Up in the air on this one :confused:. He said today he would go $2000...

5. exmark1

exmark1 PlowSite.com Addict

Tell him $2000.00 with the frame fixed and it maybe an okay deal. Do you have any pictures of the truck?

6. Joe D

Joe D Senior Member