1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Dump trailer review

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by CashinH&P, Apr 22, 2013.

1. CashinH&P

CashinH&P Senior Member

Hi guys, not a commercial plowing question pu a commercial lawn care guestion, I am in the process of purchising a 6x10 7000lbs gvw dump trailer.

Im looking at the downeastern or the car mate trailer.

Down eastern $4700 w/steak pockets (no wait)
    Car mate $4700-5000 w/ steak pockets (4-6 week wait)

What are your thoughts on these two trailers?

2. ScubaSteve728

ScubaSteve728 Senior Member

3. 04ram1500

04ram1500 Member

I have no experience with either of the brands you listed, however I can give you some of my personal experience with the trailer I bought from Cross Country Manufacturing.

Look over all of the welded joints very well. Press on some of the joints. The trailer I got they only spot welded the panels together to allow easier replacement, however they filled the rest of the joint with silicone caulk, then painted over it.

Now after using the trailer for 1 year the silicone has flexed and moved causing all of the paint to crack and start chipping off. Of course this has also lead to major rust issues at every single joint.

I called the manufacturer and voiced my concerns and was pretty much told to f-off. So that also says bad things about their customer service.

I don't know if all manufacturers build their trailers the same way, I recommend asking, but definitely avoid Cross Country at all costs.

4. peteo1

peteo1 PlowSite.com Addict

Bri-mar makes a real nice dump trailer. Really popular here in NW Pa.

5. CashinH&P

CashinH&P Senior Member