1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Dually Snow Chains

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by bobross, May 20, 2015.

1. bobross

bobross Junior Member

Needing to get my traction issues under control for the upcoming winter. I had an old set of single tire chains that didn't really get the job done for me last year and ended up needing a 25ft tow into my driveway that cost $75.

I'm new to the north, and I'm really not sure what to look for in snow chains. The truck will never see the road in the winter, but I need to ensure I don't run into traction issues again. I'm already planning on loading the bed with stamp sand.

Any recommendations on a good set of dually chains? I'm willing to spend a little extra up front if it means I don't have to worry about traction.

2. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic

Remove the outter wheel on each side. Load up on weight, you'll be good to go.

3. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

Is the truck 4wd, are you running an aggressive tire in the winter and are studs allowed?
    Providing your driveway and roads in the area don't have a large crown on them chains on the outside tire should be fine.
    I carry/use V-Bar chains, they've bite into anything, they're not a high speed chain and take them off when they're no longer needed.
    I use chains more for getting traction in mud than I use them for traction in snow.
    I've been using Peerlees Chains, http://www.grainger.com/product/3VT...3VTP4&ef_id=VSNMxAAABAwZ2r7H:20150521141546:s

4. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

Is it hilly or mountainous where you are? :laughing::laughing::laughing:

5. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN